Are you tired of Facebook and would like to take some days off? Do you want to get rid of your Facebook account? No worries. We have given detailed but simple steps on how to deactivate Facebook account here for you.
YouFacebook is a wonderful social media platform for staying in touch with friends and family but, for some reason, you may want to deactivate your Facebook account. Some of the reasons why people may want to deactivate Facebook account includes; to manage Facebook addiction, the constant bombardment of updates, messages, likes, pokes and advertisements and many more.
YOU MAY ALSO LIKE: Deactivate Kik Account – Delete Kik Account permanently
Facebook doesn’t make it easy for you to find the link to deactivate your Facebook account, but deactivating Facebook is fairly easy once you know where to look and what to do.
What Happens When You deactivate Facebook?
It is important to know that when you deactivate Facebook account you have not deleted Facebook account permanently. Before we go ahead to let you know how to deactivate Facebook account, let us first let you know what happens, when you deactivate Facebook account.
- No one else can see your profile.But Facebook saves all your Facebook files for you in case you change your mind.
- Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
- Your friends may still see your name in their friends list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends list.
- Group admins of Facebook groups you belong to may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.
- If you deactivate your Facebook account, your Messenger account will remain active. We have outlined how to deactivate account from Messenger below.
- When your Facebook account is deactivated, but you still have Messenger:
- You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
- Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
- Other people can search for you to send you a message.
YOU MAY ALSO LIKE: How To Create New Apple ID – Create New Apple ID on iPhone, iPad, Mac, PC
How To Deactivate Facebook Account – How to Deactivate Facebook 2018
As I stated earlier, It may look difficult to deactivate Facebook if you do not know what to do but it is very easy to deactivate Facebook when you know where to look and what to do. To Deactivate Facebook account, follow the steps below.
1: Click on the menu icon at the top right hand of any Facebook page.
2: Click on “Settings” from the drop-down list as shown in the photo below.
3: Click on ‘general” at the top left-hand side. See the pics below.
4: Then click on “Manage account“. See pics below.
5: Go down to “Deactivate your account‘ option and click on the link. See the pics below.
6: Enter your Facebook login details(Email and password) on the next page and click on “Continue”.
7: Facebook will now display a list of some of your friends and tell you that so-so and so will miss you, Send them a message and blablabla. This is to entice you and make you not to deactivate your Facebook account again. Just ignore these if your mind is really made up.
8: Then check the small boxes to let them know the reason you are deactivating Facebook account.
9: Check the Email opt-out box to stop receiving Friend requests, friends invite, and other notifications from Facebook. If you fail to check this box you will be receiving group invites, tags and friend requests even after you deactivate your Facebook account.
10: Also check the delete applications button if you have created any Facebook application.
11: Click on “Confirm” to complete Facebook account deactivation.
Summary of How to Deactivate Facebook Account
Below is the summarised version of how to Deactivate Facebook account. How to Deactivate Facebook temporarily.
- Log on to Facebook and click on the menu icon at the top right hand of any Facebook page.
- Click on “Settings” from the drop-down list.
- Click on ‘general” at the top left-hand side.
- Then click on “Manage account“.
- Go down to “Deactivate your account‘ option and click on the link.
- Enter your Facebook login details(Email and password) on the next page and click on “Continue“.
- Then Check the small boxes to let them know the reason you are deactivating Facebook account.
- Check the Email opt-out box to stop receiving Friend requests, friends invite, and other notifications from Facebook.
- You may also check the delete applications button if you have created any Facebook application.
- Click on “Confirm” to complete Facebook account deactivation.
That is all about how to deactivate Facebook 2018. I believe you now know how to deactivate Facebook account with no fuzz.
How To Reactivate Facebook Account- Reactivate Facebook account – www.facebook.com
As you may already know, you can still recover Facebook account after you might have deactivated it. To Reactivate Facebook account:
- Simply log in to your Facebook profile or Facebook messenger.
- You will need your Facebook registered email to Reactivate Facebook account.
Can I deactivate Messenger?
To deactivate Messenger after you’ve deactivated your Facebook account follow the steps below:
- Open Facebook Messenger.
- Tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
- Click on Privacy & Terms.
- Click on Deactivate Messenger.
- Enter your password and tap Continue.
- Tap Deactivate and confirm to deactivate Messenger account.
How To Reactivate Messenger – Reactivate Facebook Messenger Account – www.facebook.com
To reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.
Please Note: If you deactivate both Facebook and Messenger and then reactivate Messenger, your Facebook account will also be reactivated.
We have given a detailed walkthrough on how to deactivate Facebook account or How to Deactivate Facebook as well as how to reactivate Facebook account. We also looked at how to deactivate Facebook with messenger or how to deactivate messenger.
Was this information helpful? Let us know in the comment box below.